Best for small must for all

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Cricketers in India


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Cricketers in India

Cricket is the most loved sport in India. Cricket is like religion to the Indians and cricketers like God. India has been a hub of some of the finest cricket players in the world. When we say cricketers the instant names that comes to our mind are Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Yuvraj Singh, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Saurav Ganguly among others. This page will give you a detailed information about cricketers in India. Explore more about the famous cricket personalities of India.

Cricket in India

Ajit Wadekar: Ajit Wadekar is a former Indian cricketer who played for India from 1966 to 1974. Often referred to as a very aggressive batsman, Ajit Wadekar made his debut into first class cricket in the year 1958 and then made his entry into international cricket in 1966. Read More

Anil Kumble: One of the best bowlers that India has ever produced, Anil Kumble was a right-arm leg spin bowler. Born on 17 October, 1970 he played for India for huge number of matches including test match and One day and has taken 619 wickets in test cricket and remains the third highest wicket taker after Muttiah Muralidharan and Shane Warne. Read More

Bishan Singh Bedi: Bishen Singh Bedi, born on 25 September, 1946 was a national team cricket player who was primarily a slow left-arm orthodox bowler. His presence in the Indian test team was felt from the year 1966 to 1979. He was also the Indian team captain in 22 test matches. Read More

Dilip Vengsarkar: Known as the Colonel, Dilip Vengsarkar was one of the important members of the Indian team during the late 70s and early 80s. He was one of the key batsmen in the lineup following Sunil Gavaskar and Gunduppa Viswanath during that time. He continued playing for the Indian team till the year 1989. Read More

Gautam Gambhir: More popularly known as Gauti by his friends and co-cricketers, Gautam Gambhir is one of Indias treasured discoveries. He is a left-handed opening batsman who also plays in the middle at times, has proved valuable to the Indian team many a times. Once he was the highest run-scorer for India in twenty 20 international and ranked 9th highest scorer in One Day innings matches. In 2019, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and won election to the Lok Sabha from East Delhi. He is a current member of the Lok Sabha. Read More

Kapil Dev: Kapil Dev Ramlal Nikhanj, better known as Kapil Dev, was an Indian cricketer during whose captaincy India won its first World Cup Trophy in the year 1983. He was a very graceful right-arm pace bowler and remained India’s main strike bowler for most of his career. Read More

Krishnamachari Srikkanth: A former captain of the Indian cricket team and also the former chairman of the selection committee, Krishnamachari Srikkanth had a major role to play in the history of Indian cricket. He played for the state of Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy league. Read More

Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi: Also known as Tiger Pataudi or MAK Pataudi, Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi was an Indian cricketer. He was the former captain of the Indian cricket team. He was the ninth Nawab of Pataudi. At the age of 21 years he became a record holder of the youngest Test captain which was later surpassed. Read More

Mohammad Azharuddin: A former cricketer and now a politician, Mohammad Azharuddin was one of the acclaimed captains of the Indian team who led the Indian team during most of the 1990s. he was an accomplished batsman who scored runs for India and also took India to a different level in the field of cricket. Read More

Mohinder Amarnath: Born on 24 September, 1950, Mohinder Amarnath was a former Indian cricketer and a current cricket analyst. Most commonly known as Jimmy he is the son of Lala Amamrnath who was a post independent captain of India. His brothers Surinder Amarnath and Rajinder Amarnath were also cricket players. Read More

Rahul Dravid: Rahul Dravid is a former Indian cricketer and was the captain of the Indian Test and One Day International teams. Dravid was named one of the Wisden cricketers of the year 2000. Wisden ranked him the third greatest Test batsman of all time, after Sachin Tendulkar and Don Bradman. Read More

Ravi Shastri: A former Indian cricketer as well as the captain, Ravi Shastri was an all-rounder who batted right-handed and was a left arm spin bowler. He gave 18 years of his life to cricket and initially started his career as a bowler but proved to be an expert batsman later on. Read More

Sachin-Tendulkar: Born on 24 April, 1973 Sachin Tendulkar  is an Indian cricketer who is not only considered the God of Indian cricket but also a worshipped batsmen around the world.  He is considered next only to Sir Don Bradman who is a cricket genius. Wisden Cricketers Almanack ranked him the second best batsmen in the world. Read More

Sourav Ganguly: Born on 8 July, 1972, Sourav Ganguly also known as Dada is a former Indian national cricket team  player as well as the captain. Wisden Cricketers Almanack has ranked him as the sixth highest One Day innings runs scorer and also the 3rd person to cross the 10,000 runs landmark after Sachin Tendulkar and Inzamam Ul Haq.Read More

Sunil-Gavaskar: Sunil Gavaskar aka Sunny is a former Indian cricketer, who has left his mark in the field of cricket with his superb batting skills. He set the world record for the most number of test runs and most number of test centuries by any batsmen. Sunil Gavaskar had the world record of 34 centuries for almost two decades until Sachin Tendulkar broke it later on. Read More

Syed Kirmani: Syed Kirmani is one of Indias wicket-keepers who maintained his position in the indian team by doing his job really well. His debut was against New Zealand. As a batsmen also he showed his skills by giving some of the best performances in the Indian cricket tours.

Virender Sehwag: Virender Sehwag, born on 20 october, 1978 is one of the leading cricketers of the Indian Team. Also known as Viru and Nawab of Nazafgarh, he proved his worth in the Indian team since he stepped into the national team. Sehwag was an aggressive right-handed opening batsman and also a right-arm off-spin bowler who bowled occasionally. Read More

Ajay Jadeja: Ajaysinhji Daulatsinhji Jadeja is a former cricketer of the Indian cricket team. He was regular in the Indian cricket team from 1992 & 2000 and was indispensable all-rounder of the team. Read More

Yuvraj Singh: Yuvraj Singh is an Indian cricketer. He has been a member of the Indian cricket team since the  year 2000. He is one of the best batsman and fielders that India has ever produced. Inspite of his cancer, Yuvraj Singh made a stunning comeback and continue to play for India with the toughness he had earlier. Read More


Related Links