A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Structure of Planning Commission of India


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Structure of Planning Commission of India

The Prime minister is the chairman of the Planning Commission. The chairman along with the Deputy Chairman and the full time members give advice and guidance for the formulation of Five Year Plan, Annual Plans, State Plans, Projects and Schemes, among others.

Current Planning commission 

In his first Independence Day speech in 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced his intention to dissolve the Planning Commission. It has since been replaced by a new institution named NITI Aayog.

Functions of planning commission of India

  • To increase National income and per capita income.
  • To raise agricultural Production.
  • To industrialise the country.
  • To achieve balanced regional development.
  • To expand employment opportunities.
  • To reduce inequalities of income and wealth.
  • To remove poverty.
  • To achieve self-reliance. 

Current structure of the Planning Commission

  1. Chairman: Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia
  2. Secretary:  Shri Nirmal Singh, Director (C and l)
  3. Minister of State: Shri M.V. Rajshekharan
  4. Minister responsible: Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of India
  5. Deputy Minister responsible: Rao Inderjit Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge)
Note: For the current updated information log on to https://niti.gov.in/planningcommission.gov.in

Related Links

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries