Ancient India Timeline

There is a series of various milestones in the history of Ancient India which makes India what it is today. Listed below are some important years in the history of Ancient India:


Indus Valley Civilisation (BC 2700 – BC 1900)

The Indus Valley Civilization was discovered in the 1920s. This was established around 3300 BC. It started declining around 1900 BC and disappeared around 1400 BC.

Chalcolithic Period (4000 BC – 1,500 BC)

It is also known as the Copper Age and considered part of the Bronze Age.

Iron Age (BC 1500 – BC 200)

Vedic Period and Arrival of Aryans
Basic books of Hinduism, Vedas were composed in this period.
Rise of Jainism and Buddhism
Magadha empire– Bimbisara of Haryanka Kula
Sishunaga dynasty – Kalasoka (Kakavarnin)
Nanda empire – Mahapadma-Nanda, Dhana-Nanda
Persians – Greek arrival: Alexander 327 BC

Mauryan Empire (324-187 BC)

322–298 BCE- Chandragupta
298–272 BCE- Bindusara
268–232 BCE – Ashoka
Mauryan Kingdoms was succeeded by
Sunga (181-71 BC)
Kanva (71-27BC)
Satavahanas (235-100BC)
Indo-Greeks, Parthians (180BC-45AD)
Sakas (90BC-150AD)
Kushanas (78AD)

Sangam Age (300 BC – 300 AD)


Gupta Empire (300AD – 800AD)

This was an ancient Indian empire
Samudra Gupta of the Gupta Empire is known as Indian Napoleon

Post-Gupta or Contemporary Gupta

The deterioration of Imperial Guptas, Magadha and its capital, Pataliputra
After the fall of the Gupta Empire, important centres of power arose:

Vardhana Dynasty
Also, Rajputs, Senas and Chauhans succeeded later.

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing