Navy in India

The naval branch of Indian armed forces, Indian Navy secures 7,516 km long ocean border of India. Indian Navy ranks as the 5th largest navy world wide. As of June 2019, Indian Navy has 67,252 active and 75,000 reserve personnel in service and has a fleet of 150 ships and submarines, and 300 aircraft.

As of April 2022, the operational fleet consists of 1 active aircraft carrier and 1 amphibious transport dock, 8 landing ship tanks, 10 destroyers, 13 frigates, 1 ballistic missile submarine, 16 conventionally-powered attack submarines, 24 corvettes, one mine countermeasure vessel, 4 fleet tankers and numerous other auxiliary vessels, small patrol boats and sophisticated ships. It is considered as a multi-regional power projection blue-water navy.


The Indian Navy currently operates more than 180 vessels, including the aircraft carrier INS Viraat, along with operational jet fighters.

Though the primary objective of the navy is to secure national maritime borders, India also uses its navy to enhance its international relations through joint exercises, port visits and humanitarian missions, including disaster relief. 

In recent years, the Indian Navy has undergone extensive modernization and expansion with an intention to increase its capabilities as a recognized blue-water navy.

It is fairly advanced in terms of technology and is in control of one of two Asian aircraft carriers. The ships used in Indian Navy are of Indian and foreign origin as well three ballistic missile submarines are also used from 2010.

 Even Indian navy is among one of the six navies in the world with nuclear capabilities. Others in the list include US, Russia, China, France and the UK. In addition it is in command of the BrahMos which is the fastest cruise missile in the world with speeds of 2.8 Mach.


Ranks in Indian Navy: 

AdmiralMaster Chief Petty Officer Ist Class
Vice AdmiralMaster Chief Petty Officer IInd Class
Rear AdmiralChief Petty Officer
CommodorePetty Officer
CaptainLeading Rate
CommanderSeaman Ist Class
Lieutenant CommanderSeaman 2nd Class
Sub Lieutenant

The Commander of the Navy is the Chief of Naval Staff (CNS), the provision for the rank of Admiral of the Fleet exists, honorary intended for major wartime use and honor. No officer of the Indian Navy has yet been conferred this rank.

The Indian Navy is divided into the following organizations:

The Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) exercises operational and administrative control of the Indian Navy from the Integrated Headquarters of Ministry of Defence (Navy). He is assisted by the Vice Chief of the Naval Staff (VCNS) and three other Principal Staff Officers, namely the Deputy Chief of the Naval Staff (DCNS), the Chief of Personnel (COP) and the Chief of Material (COM).


The Indian Navy has 3 Commands. Each Command is headed by a Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief in the rank of Vice Admiral.

Western Naval CommandMumbaiVice Admiral Ajendra Bahadur Singh, PVSM, AVSM, VSM
Eastern Naval CommandVisakhapatnamVice Admiral Biswajit Dasgupta, AVSM, YSM, VSM
Southern Naval CommandKochiVice Admiral M A Hampiholi, AVSM, NM

The major bases of the Indian Navy are located at Mumbai, Goa, Karwar, Kochi, Chennai, Visakhapatnam, Kolkata and Port Blair. The biggest ships of the Indian Navy form part of its two Fleets. A Fleet is a group of ships that operate under one authority.

The Indian Navy’s Western Fleet is based at Mumbai and the Eastern Fleet is based at Visakhapatnam. There are also Flotillas of ships, Squadrons of submarines and various types of aircraft operated by the Navy from a number of Naval Air Stations.

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing