Indian Sportsmen

India is a country rich not only in culture and tradition but also packed with sports personalities. These sportsmen stamped their names in the pages of history of sports not only at a national but at an international level too. 

People have been excelling in the field of sports in India in different categories ranging from tennis to badminton to wrestling to chess. 

People have brought laurels to the country and successfully made the country proud with their feats. India online gives you detailed information about the life and sports career of sportsmen in India. 


Abhinav Bindra: He is a well known Indian shooter. He is the first Indian to win an individual gold medal since the year 1980. He is the world and Olympic champion in the 10 meter air rifle event in the 2008 Olympic Games held in Beijing. Read More

Akhil Kumar: This Indian boxer has won many national as well as international awards in various boxing competitions. He started boxing at the age of 13. Akhil Kumar's first fight was in the school state level boxing in Haryana....Read More

Anju Bobby George: Anju Bobby George is an Indian athlete. She is the first Indian athlete ever to win a medal in a World Championship in athletics jumping... Read More

Baichung Bhutia:
Nicknamed as the Sikkimese Sniper, Baichung Bhutia is an Indian footballer and a renowned sportsperson. He played as a striker and is considered as a torchbearer of Indian football in the international career... Read More

Chetan Anand Buradagunta: Chetan Anand Buradagunta is an ace Indian badminton player. Chetan Anand became the National badminton Champion for the first time in the year 2004...Read More

Devendro Singh: An Indian boxer from Manipur, Laishram Devendro Singh competes in the light- flyweight division. Devendro Singh qualified for the Olympics 2012 in London by reaching the quarter finals of the 2011 World Amateur Boxing Championships in Baku.. Read More

Dhanraj Pillay: He is a former captain of the Indian hockey team. He is a field hockey player from Pune who created magic with his skills on the hockey field. Such was his speed and agility on the field that made everyone watch him in awe...Read More

Dipankar Bhattacharjee: A star badminton player of Assam,  Dipankar Bhattacharjee has represented India in many occasions including the Barcelona and Atlanta Olympics. He is the first Olympian from Assam apart from being the only senior National Badminton Champion from the North East till the year 2006... Read More

Dola Banerjee: She is an Indian sportswoman who competes in archery. She represented India in innumerable international arena and brought laurels to the country... Read More

Gagan Narang: He is an ace Indian shooter, especially in the field of Air rifle shooting. He is the first man from India to qualify for the London Olympics. It was in the year 2012 when Narang won the bronze medal in the summer Olympics with a final score...Read More

Jeev Milkha Singh: Son of legendary field sprinter Milkha Singh, Jeev Milkha Singh is an Indian professional golfer and has won laurels for the country. Jeev Milkha Singh was awarded the prestigious Padma Shri award, India's fourth highest civilian award by the Indian Government in the year 2007... Read More

Jwala Gutta: She is a left handed Indian badminton player who has won the National Badminton championships thirteen times until 2010. She is one of the best women's doubles badminton players India has produced in the recent years...Read More

Krishna Poonia: A national woman discus throw champion, Krishna Poonia was born on 5th May 1977 in Agroha in Hissar district of Haryana. She was awarded the prestigious Arjuna Award in the year 2010 by the Indian Government and the Padma Shri in the year 2011...Read More

Mary Kom: Mary Kom is an Indian boxer from Manipur. She is a popular sportsperson of Manipur who brought laurels to the state. On October 3, 2010, she bore the Queens Baton in its Opening Ceremony run in the stadium for the 2010 Commonwealth Games of Delhi...Read More

Milkha Singh: He is an Indian athlete. He is also known as Milky Singh and is also nicknamed as The Flying Sikh. This Sikh is the only Indian male to win athletics gold medal individually in the Commonwealth Games... Read More

Nameirakpam Kunjarani Devi: Nameirakpam Kunjarani Devi is an Indian weightlifter. She is a recipient of the Padmashree Award, Arjuna Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award etc. She has more than 50 international medals to her credit... Read More

Narsingh Pancham Yadav: He is an Indian wrestler who hails from Uttar Pradesh. Carving a name for himself in the history of wrestling not only in India but also at an International level, he has brought laurels to the country at different occasions and events. Narsingh Yadav has been honored with the Arjuna Award in the year 2012...Read More

Pankaj Advani: He is an Indian sportsperson. He is an ace billiards and snooker player who is considered as one of the best in India. He has won many titles and has been honored with many prestigious awards... Read More

P.T. Usha: Nicknamed the Payyoli Express, P.T. Usha is an Indian track and field athlete from the state of Kerala. Currently, she coaches young athletes in Kelara in a Coaching Academy... Read More

Pullela Gopichand: Pullela Gopichand is a renowned badminton player who is the second Indian after Prakash Padukone to win All England Open Badminton Championships 2001. Pullela Gopichand was awarded the prestigious Arjuna Award in the year 1999 by the Indian Government... Read More

Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore: He is an ace Indian shooter who is first Indian to win a silver medal in the Olympics post-independence. Rathore is also a recipient of the Padma Shri, a civilian award from the Indian Government... Read More

Shiva Thapa: Shiva Thapa is a boxer from Assam. He has won many medals for the country bringing laurels and is one of the youngest boxers of India to qualify for the Olympics.... Read More

Sushil Kumar: Kumar is an Indian World Champion wrestler who brought laurels to the country through his honorary achievements and successful victories at an international level. Sushil Kumar was awarded the prestigious Arjuna Award in the year 2005 and also awarded the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award...Read More

Vijay Kumar: He is a sport shooter from India who brought honors to India in the Summer Olympics 2012. Olympic Gold quest is an initiative which supports Vijay Kumar in his field of work. Vijay Kumar was awarded the prestigious Arjuna Award in the year 2007... Read More

Yogeshwar Dutt: Yogeshwar Dutt is an Indian wrestler who brought laurels to the country through his honorary achievements and successful victories at an international level. Yogeshwar Dutt won the gold medal in the 2003 Commonwealth Wrestling Championship... Read More

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing