Timeline of Mughal Dynasty

The Mughal Dynasty founded by Babur was one of the most important dynasties of Indian history. It's greatest rulers were Akbar and Shah Jahan during whose time not only the empire expanded in length and breath but some of the notable monuments like Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Red Fort were built.


1504- Babur captures Kabul, making it and eastern Afghanistan the first possession of the Mughal empire

1526- In a battle at Panipat Babur defeats the sultan of Delhi, launching the Mughal empire in India

1530- The first Mughal emperor, Babur, dies in India and is succeeded by his son, Humayun

1543- Humayun, driven west into Afghanistan by Sher Shah, loses his family's new inheritance in India

1555- Humayun in Shah Tahmasp's court

1556- Humayun dies and Akbar, the greatest of the Mughal emperors, inherits the throne at the age of thirteen

1571- Akbar builds his new palace of Fatehpur Sikri close to the shrine of a Sufi saint

1605- On the death of Akbar, his son Jahangir succeeds to the Mughal throne

1628- Jahangir was succeeded by his second son Khurram popularly known as Shah Jahan

1632- Shah Jahan begins building the Taj Mahal in memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal

1658-Shah Jahan held captive by his son Aurangzeb in Red Fort in Agra

1673- Aurangzeb begins construction of Badshahi Mosque in Lahore

1701- Decline of Mughal empire begins with the death of Aurangzeb

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing