A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

The Eastern Ghats


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

The Eastern Ghats

The Eastern Ghats are discontinuous Mountain ranges stretching parallel to Bay of Bengal. The four major rivers flowing across the ghats are Mahanadi, Krishna, Kaveri, Godaveri. The Nilgiri hills in Tamil Nadu lie at the junction of Eastern and Western Ghats. 

These major rivers cut the Eastern Ghats into various discontinuous hills. They are separated from the Bay of Bengal by the coastal plains. The elevation of the Eastern Ghats is comparatively lower than the Western Ghats mountain ranges. They have an average height of 450 metres and rarely exceed 1200 metres.


The Ghats start from West-Bengal and finally end at Tamil-Nadu passing through the states of Orissa and Andhra Pradesh. The mountains contained in the range are eroded and cut-through. 

The hills in the Southern areas of the range are famous for coffee plantations. The maximum elevations are found towards the Northern and Southern ends.

Related Links

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries